A New Transfer Call, A New Area, A New Companion, And Lots of Potential

(February 8, 2016)

안녕하세요!

Last visit with our ward mission leader
DSC03428.JPG
Our investigator brother 박 on my last sunday.  The man on the far right is a recently activated less active who did lessons together with us and is being endowed this month! DSC03434.JPGFinal goodbye to Jared and Bryan
DSC03454.JPG
Final goodbye with brother JungDSC03422.JPG
Goodbye to the Jungri Ward building (even though I am transferring right next door…)
DSC03451.JPG
I have been transferred!  After my four transfers serving in the 중리 (Jungri) ward of the 대구 (Daegu) Stake I have been sent to serve in the next ward over – 수성 (Suseong).  I have to say it was sad to say my goodbyes to an area that I have come to love and given my heart to so much, but I am also super excited to go on to a new place and new experiences.
수성 is a super great area, full of super great members, and super great potential.  My new companion and I, Elder Suttner, are will be serving as zone leaders of the 대구 zone, which is the largest in our mission with 34 missionaries.  It is the area in the mission that literally every missionary wants to serve in.  You cant really say that there are best and worst areas in a mission, but if there were, 수성 would probably be the best.  In our area we oversee 2 wards that meet in the same building.  One of them is the biggest ward in our mission with about 150 korean members coming out to church every week.  The other is an english speaking military branch attended by the soldiers and foreigners from all the surrounding areas. It is over the richest and nicest part of 대구.  Our ward building is giant (it even has an elevator in it) and is the stake center of our stake.  The members are super nice and super hard working.  We have a group of 9 missionaries here currently – 2 teams of elders (A and B team, we are the A team) one team of sisters, and one set of senior couple missionaries (the Dustins, who live near the church and oversee the military branch).
My new companion is Elder Suttner.  He came into the mission one transfer right after me and we actually were in the MTC together.  He is one year younger than me and comes from St. George Utah (attended Desert Hills High School).  He came out on his mission from highschool, is all lined up to start at BYU Provo next fall, and wants to study law.  This is his second area serving as Zone Leader, he is obedient, hard working, and good at Korean.
In this transfer I really feel like I have just been given all the tools to work really hard and be a good missionary.  I have another experienced companion who is talented at the language, and area full of members to visit, a great zone to help and serve for, and lots of prepared investigators.  Our ward has a goal this year to baptize 50 investigators and president barrow has recently been emphasizing a vision that every team of missionaries baptism individuals every week.  Elder Suttner and I’s goal, everything we are working toward, will be to accomplish these things.  I am planning and ready to spend the busiest and most productive time of my mission.
This last week Elder Finch and I had a great last week together in 중리.  We met with lots of investigators, lots of members, all of our recent converts, and I was able to say all of my goodbyes.  It was sad to say goodbye, but also kind of strange in that I was only transferred on ward away.  On Friday morning I packed up all of my things and rather than going to the post office and sending all of my baggage like usual, Elder Finch and I just stuck all of my stuff in the back of a taxi and rode over to our new house.  It cost a total of $8.  Probably the easiest transfer of my mission.
Today is a very quiet day.  It is the Korean Lunar New Year (설날) which is one of the 2 giant holidays of the year.  This morning Elder Suttner and I spent our morning at the train station coordinating all of the transferring missionaries.  This transfer we ended our traditional transfer meetings and have started a new system where missionary’s travel plans are all done by the zone leaders and they all travel individually on buses and trains and are met by their new companions in their new areas.  Right now I am emailing you from our ward’s family history center and tonight I am looking forward to meet all the members of the military branch at our weekly family home evening activity.  All is well and I am excited for what is to come!
I would like to end with a few scriptures that I shard in my farewell talk to the 중리 ward.  When I shared these scriptures I invited the ward members to think about their own personal answers to these questions and I would invite you to do the same.
These are from Alma’s address in the Book of Mormon, Alma chapter 5 verses 14, 16, and 26.
“And now behold, I ask of you, my brethren of the church, have ye spiritually been born of God? Have ye received his image in your countenances? Have ye experienced this mighty change in your hearts?
I say unto you, can you imagine to yourselves that ye hear the voice of the Lord, saying unto you, in that day: Come unto me ye blessed, for behold, your works have been the works of righteousness upon the face of the earth?
And now behold, I say unto you, my brethren, if ye have experienced a change of heart, and if ye have felt to sing the song of redeeming love, I would ask, can ye feel so now?”
The Church is true, I am happy to be a missionary, and I am looking forward for where this transfer will take me.
Love
Elder Lees
Leave a Reply

